I  am processing tons of books for the BTS Library this week! It’s supposed to be a “break”  (Spring break) but for me it’s an opportunity to work more hours from home. Anyway, here I am, surrounded by piles of books, labels, book tape, and other librarian’s tools, when the book Rules, by Cynthia Lord, comes to my hands.

This is the BTS Library copy of the book

This is the BTS Library copy of the book

I had read this book before, but since I am now working for BTS, I decided to re-read it (by the way, do you find yourself re-reading books often? I do!)   I think it’s a great book, and it seems I am not the only one who thinks that way. The book got a Newbery Honor Medal and also a Schneider Family Award (which you already know because you read my post on this Award.)  I am not, however, an expert on the topic of siblings of children on the autism spectrum. Therefore, I would like to ask you, BTS parents, your opinion of the book from a “reality check” point of view.

If you have at least one kid with autism and one more kid not on the spectrum, would you tell me…

– Have you read Rules, by Cynthia Lord?

– If the answer is yes, do you think it is an accurate reflection of the experience of siblings? Why?

– If not, why?

I would really appreciate your input on this. Feel free to comment here, or send me an e-mail to akl.librarian AT gmail.com. Also, if you want to read the book, it will be on the BTS Library next week. We didn’t start the check-out system yet, but feel free to sign a slip of paper with your name and give it to Donna or one of the teachers and take the book home. Just make sure to return it as soon as you are done so others can read it.

I leave you with a quote from the book:

At a friend’s house, everything is uncomplicated. No one drops toys in the fish tank, no one cares if the cellar door is open or closed, and no one shrieks unless there’s a huge, hairy spider crawling up her arm (…) But the best part of being at a friend’s house is I can be just me and put the sister part of me down.”

I look forward to your comments!

Your BTS Librarian